University Leadership Initiative (ULI) - Round 2 Awards

ULI - Round 2 (Awarded in 2019)

(More information on each of the ULI awards is available at NASA TechPort, click on the award titles under the section "ULI - Round 2 Awards")


Kickoff Meeting

With NASA in attendance, all ULI awardees hosted their kickoff meetings in 2019.


ULI Lunch and Learn

On July 9-10, 2019 representatives of the three Round 2 ULI teams briefed congressional staff on their research topics, team approach, and expectations for their ULI experience. Team leads accompanied by their students visited congressional offices, including a briefing to House Science Committee staff.


ULI-Round 2 Solicitation

NASA’s Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate (ARMD) announced a second opportunity for universities and their research partners to contribute toward NASA research goals. This opportunity is now closed.

The Interested Partners List was provided to help connect potential applicants. For further information on the University Leadership Initiative, please contact


ULI-Round 2 Awards

  1. Development of an Additive Manufacturing Ecosystem for Qualification of Additive Manufacturing Processes and Materials in Aviation
    • PI: Anthony Rollett (Carnegie Mellon University)
    • Co-Is: Jack Beuth (Carnegie Mellon University), Erica Fuchs (Carnegie Mellon University), Elizabeth Holm (Carnegie Mellon University), Kenji Shimada (Carnegie Mellon University), John Lewandowski (Case Western Reserve University), Owen Hildreth (Colorado School of Mines), Branden Kappes (Colorado School of Mines), Aaron Stebner (Colorado School of Mines), Behnam Amin-Ahmadi (Colorado School of Mines), Albert To (University of Pittsburgh), Ryan Wicker (Univ. of Texas at El Paso), Sneha Prabha Narra (Worcester Polytechnic Inst. (WPI), John E. Barnes (The Barnes Group), Ayman Salem (Materials Resources LLC)
    • Topic: Advanced Aviation Manufacturing
    • Period of Performance: September 2019 - August 2022
    • Link: TBD
  2. Effective Human-Robot Teaming to Advance Aviation Manufacturing
    • PI: Bilge Mutlu (University Of Wisconsin, Madison)
    • Co-Is: Rebecca Cook (Boeing Inc.), Richard Gardner (Boeing Inc.), Michael Gleicher (University Of Wisconsin, Madison), Robert Radwin (University Of Wisconsin, Madison), Michael Zinn (University Of Wisconsin, Madison), Christopher Reid (Boeing Inc.)
    • Topic: Advanced Aviation Manufacturing
    • Period of Performance: September 2019 - August 2022
    • Link: University of Wisconsin, Madison ULI page
  3. Center for Cryogenic High-Efficiency Electrical Technologies for Aircraft (CHEETA)
    • PI: Phillip Ansell (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
    • Co-Is: Kiruba Haran (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Shailesh Atreya (Boeing Inc.), Arijit Banerjee (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Edward Greitzer (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), David Hall (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Kai James (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Fang Luo (University of Arkansas, Fayetteville), Alan Mantooth (University of Arkansas, Fayetteville), Jason Merret (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Edward Mugica (Boeing Inc.), Mike Sumption (Ohio State University), Ernst W. Stautner (General Electric Company), Bang-Hung Tsao (University of Dayton), Luigi Vanfretti (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
    • Topic: Transition to Alternative Propulsion and Energy
    • Period of Performance: September 2019 - August 2022
    • Link: University of Illinois ULI page


+ Back to ULI Homepage

to top